Experience Comes in Handy for Yard Work

14Nov12

Growing up, I’ve had my fair share of experience gardening and it wasn’t the enjoyable kind either. it was the hard stuff, like the overgrown flower beds and yards from my parent’s rentals. I got to the point, I couldn’t even stand to hear the word, ‘rental’. You would think I’d never want to garden again, but I actually enjoy it now.

Upon taking the house, our yard was a little overgrown. Bushes needed trimming and trees needed to be prepared for winter. Yesterday, we took on the front yard and today we will take on the back yard. I want to get the yard to the point that all I need to do is weekly maintenance during spring and summer. I’m trying to think in the lines of working smarter and not harder.

My dad cut the crape and myrtle tree way back so it will be ready when springtime comes. Those trees are pretty common here in Tennessee.

While we were working, Daisy sat at the front of the path to the house like a typical farm dog guarding her property and intently watching the two horses in the adjacent pasture. I wonder what she’ll think of horses when we get them.

When we were finished, I looked back on our work and thought how much better it looked. A well maintained yard makes for a beautiful home.

One Response to “Experience Comes in Handy for Yard Work”

  1. 1 Molly Lisenbe

    WOW.. LOOKS LIKE YOU HAD A VERY BUSY DAY , IT’S NICE WHEN YOU CAN LOOK @ WHAT YOU ACCOMPLISHED , IT MAKES YOU FEEL SO GOOD ESPECIALLY WHEN IT’S YOUR HOME .

    I LOVE THE PICTURE OF THE DOG IN THE ENTRANCE TO THE DRIVEWAY , AS I WAS READING YOUR COMMENTS ABOUT THE DOG I STARTED LAUGHTING WHEN YOU SAID FARM DOG THAT’S SO CUTE !!


Leave a Reply

