Black Friday Tennessee Style

23Nov12

Today, my sister-in-law, Helen and I decided to escape and go shopping. YES, on Black Friday! Those who know me know I wouldn’t be caught dead shopping on that day, but we went out anyway. We took Eric’s truck just in case we found things we couldn’t live without.

Using the, “Do you need it or want it?” philosophy, Helen and I made our way around the stores. I took her to two antique stores in town. We picked up some nice items for our craft/sewing rooms. Helen likes to use things in different ways than they were originally designed for.

Later we went to an Amish store in Ethridge and Helen picked up some nice handmade wooden spoons.

On the way back, a home decorating store caught our eye and we thought, “What the heck?” and ended up going there too. They had beautiful decor for the home. Half the store was Christmas decor. Who would’ve thought there’d be such nice things in such a rual part of town.

Stores here are deceiving. They look like nothing special from the outside, but when you get inside them, they’re pretty nice.

After our shopping escursion, the truck was pretty packed, so we decided to have lunch at the sushi restaurant in Lawrenceberg.

On the way home, we stopped at a furniture shop and I showed Helen our recent furniture purchases.

I enjoyed shopping with Helen. She’s very observant and sees things that I would’ve missed. It’s a very good quality to have when you’re looking at antiques. There are so many things in those stores. It pays to take your time. All in all, I think I enjoyed Black Friday better than I thought it would be. I think I might do it again next year.

2 Responses to “Black Friday Tennessee Style”

  1. Such a fun day! x

  2. Everything is very open with a really clear description of the challenges.
    It was truly informative. Your site is very useful. Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

