Meet Summit

29Dec12

I know, I said I was going to wait to buy a horse, but when I inquired about the horse I wrote about in, “A Horse to Match Daisy”, I had also inquired about another horse named Summit. It turned out that he was already in the process of being sold. When the deal fell through, the seller contacted me back to see if I was still interested. I said yes and Eric and I made arrangements, but the weather was bad on Wednesday, so we cancelled. I was thinking that it just wasn’t going to work out. Then yesterday, Eric said if I still wanted to go look, we’d go look. So, today, we went up there and checked him out.

Summit’s owner trains Arabians and used to train children to ride. She has a cattle ranch in Russellville Kentucky that she’s turned into a nice horse farm. It was about a 3 hour trip up there.

Isn’t he gorgeous? Summit is an 8 year old white Arabian gelding. A few months ago, the seller said a friend had asked if she wanted Summit. She felt sorry for him and adopted him because he was underweight and had gotten a wire stuck in his right eyelid. She took him to the vet to get him stitches. Since then, he’s recovered and has gained most of his weight back. She takes him on trail rides and camping trips and she says he love it.

The seller did mention when she got Summit his name was Frank. She changed his name because it really didn’t fit him. I would’ve changed his name too. I like the name Summit.

Summit has totally recovered from the wire injury to his right eye. There is no real damage and he doesn’t seem to be tramatized by it. I rubbed his face all over and he wasn’t bothered by it at all.

I spent some time talking, touching and grooming Summit so I could see if he’d respond to me. I was really pleased at how well that went. I lead him around and took a ride on him. He’s a great horse, pretty much does whatever you ask and he’s calm. He wasn’t spooked at all by Daisy’s curiosity of him either. The owner answered all my questions to my satisfaction. After that, I just couldn’t say no.

On Wednesday, January 2nd we’re picking him up and taking him back here. We’re going to put him in the back pasture behind the house temporarily and he will go inside the barn at night. We will probably move him to another pasture when those fences are repaired. The back pasture is for our garden.

I will adjust my training and have my trainer come here.

I’m sure he’ll love it here. There are horses on both sides of us so he shouldn’t feel too lonely. I’ll probably spend a lot of time with him anyway. We will eventually have one more horse here sometime next year. It will be so nice to have some animals on this farm. Besides, isn’t that what all this acrage is for anyway?

This has been one of my life-long dreams to own a horse. I felt really good about buying Summit. I think he’ll be a great horse for me.

5 Responses to “Meet Summit”

  1. 1 lavi

    Very beautiful you are summit

  2. 2 Tony

    Looks like he has alot of Spirit .Ride safe .

  3. 4 Carol

    He is beautiful, I love how the Arabian Horses hold their tails, it makes them look so proud. That’s so wonderful, another one of your dreams coming true, that has always been one of mine too………oh well maybe, for me in another life.


Leave a Reply

