A Ranch with No Name

01Jan13

Eric and I agreed, our farm needs a name. When naming a farm, you can think of it in a few different ways. Is the land flat or hilly? Does it have views? Do you want to name it after somebody or something? Is there a sentimental message you want to put into it? Is it big or small? You could also do a play on words.

I put together a list starting with yellow flowers, trying it to tie it to the color of the house. Next I tried to come up with names based on the gentle rolling hills here. Because our street is named Cherokee Hills, I tried to tie it to something of the Cherokee Indians. I even tried to find the name of the creek nearby which is called Branch Creek. I came up with some nice names, but in the end, Eric didn’t connect with most of them. I was trying to tie our new horse to the farm and that was the one he liked best. So, there you have it, our ranch is now named Summit’s Leap. (The leap is for the leap of faith we took in eachother.)

4 Responses to “A Ranch with No Name”

  1. 1 lavi

    Haha good brain storming. Sounds perfect

  2. 2 Molly Lisenbe

    That’s a very warm & meaningful !

  3. 3 Molly Lisenbe

    Sorry didn’t complete my sentence I was saying that’s a very warm & meaningful name for a ranch I like it !

  4. 4 Carol

    That is just too awesome, I love that!


Leave a Reply

