A Horse is a Horse of Course of Course

02Jan13

Today we went out to pick up my new horse Summit. I was so excited, I had a hard time getting to sleep last night. I woke up at 5am ready to get the day started.

At 7:30, Eric and I drove out to pick up the trailer rental and head to Russellville Kentucky.

We got there around 11:30am. Summit’s seller met us in the pasture where he was grazing. There, we tried on his new tack and it all fit. Summit figured something was up.

Summit loaded the trailer good but protested when the gate was shut. He started stomping his hooves.

When we got him home, we weren’t sure how he’d unload, but he did very good. I led him through the barn and around the arena, then let him loose in there to explore. He stayed out there until we finished dinner.

When we came out, he was waiting at the barn door. I put his lead on and brought him into his stall. He wasn’t too sure about it all until he saw his feed. When I shut the stall door though, he looked concerned. We decided we would keep his stall window open so he could look out and not feel so confined. Summit has been kept in the pasture, so it will be an adjustment for him to come into a stall every night.

We’ve made a couple of trips out to the barn to check on him. He seems to be doing fine. I will make a trip to the barn tomorrow morning at 6 to let him out and feed him. My trainer will be here at 11 to get aquainted and see how we want to work with him.

Eric says I am officially a horsewoman.

One Response to “A Horse is a Horse of Course of Course”

  1. 1 lavi

    Fun. Enjoy


Leave a Reply

