You Never Know What You’ll Find in Your Pool

03May13

From the window I could see a dark image in the pool. I decided to go check it out. It was windy, so I wasn’t exactly sure what it was. I grabbed my pool skimmer to see if I could get it into the net. As the skimmer came closer to it, it swam across the pool! It was a turtle! I spent about 20 minutes trying to get it into the net. As I’d get him to the surface, he’d jump out. My next thought was to get him up to the shallow end. Eric came to help. Together we were able to get him onto the pool steps and grab him. He had long toe nails and was very flat. He was about 6″ x 8″. We released him into the pond after we caught him. As we did, we wondered how he got into the pool yard and where he came from. We think he might be a Western Painted Turtle.

I’m always saying there’s never a dull moment here. There’s almost something new every day. I just hope we don’t ever find a snake in the pool!

2 Responses to “You Never Know What You’ll Find in Your Pool”

  1. 1 Mom

    Locally they call them sliders. We have them here Ll the time. M

  2. 2 lavI

    Cool! a red eared slider turtle


Leave a Reply

