The Biggest Beetle in the World

03Jul13

This evening I heard Eric gasp. He says I gotta see this huge beetle. It was about 3 inches with horns. Eric decides to pick it up and hold it. I am mortified. I’m glad he doesn’t have a sick sense of humor and decide to hand it to me. Instead, he flicks it on the grass after a couple of tries. (It kept sticking to him.)

After a little research I find out its a Hercules Beetle (Dynastes Hercules), the biggest beetle in the world, part of the rinoscerous family of beetles. They can get up to 7 inched long! Mainly in South America, they are also in the Eastern United States. It doesn’t surprise me that they ended up here. All kinds of bugs are making it here.

I am still trying to get over that they can get up to 7 inches long!

20130702-224507.jpg

20130703-092026.jpg

2 Responses to “The Biggest Beetle in the World”

  1. 1 Tony

    Very Cool ! I’ll send a picture of one I saw in Utah .

  2. 2 Molly Lisenbe

    Omg I think if I seen 1 that big I would run !! lol


Leave a Reply

