Drying Basil

17Aug13

Our 4 basil plants are producing nicely since planting them in July. In fact, they’ve multiplied to 5 times their original size. I don’t think I’ve ever had them grow as well in California. They must love this weather.

I have three varieties of basil: Purple basil, regular green variety and boxwood basil.

I haven’t had much of a bug problem. That’s good since I don’t use any pesticides on them. They are healthy and gorgeous.

This morning, I went out and trimmed the plants back. Eric had made dried basil while I was in California. I decided I would do the same and dry some myself with my 5 tray dehydrator.

I had a huge bag of cuttings. I brought them to the sink, cleaned them, cut all the leaves from the stems and saved just the leaves. I made sure there was no stem whatsoever. (After drying them, you will need to remove the spine as well.)

I assembled the trays and arranged the basil. I stacked the trays on the dehydrator and checked every hour rearranging the leaves as I went along. You will need to put the dehydrator on high for about 4 hours. I also rotated the top tray to the bottom because the leaves on the top dry a little slower. This can also be done in the oven at the lowest setting on or just above 170 degrees. You’ll just need to turn them if you use a baking sheet.

When the basil is completely dried out, shake each tray into a large bowl and crumble with your hands. You will need to remove the stalky parts like the spine until all you have left is finely crumbled basil.

2 Responses to “Drying Basil”

  1. 1 Molly Lisenbe

    Wow your herbs are very healthy good job !!


Leave a Reply

