Do you Need it or Want it?

11Feb14

Since retiring a year ago, my husband and I are getting a taste of what it’s like to live frugally. Before moving here, we had two incomes which afforded us pretty much whatever we wanted.

Being on one income had caused us to ask, “Do I need it or want it?” It’s sad, but most of my self-checks have been, “I want it! *@##!” So, with that being said, we are constantly prioritizing our needs and wants in regard to the farm. Our secondary question is, “Does it benefit the farm?”

I’ve actually come to relish the things I so seldom get. I don’t I think about replacing something with the latest or greatest as often as I used to. I can still dream though. Eric always snaps me back into reality when he says, “Chicken coop”, which is our next goal.

It has also causes me to consider waste and has changed my way of living. I’m not as liberal with soap, paper, food and beauty products as I used to be. As I reflect on this, it’s not good to use aimlessly and have no regard for our resources. As we strip our land, I can see why there are shortages of things in the world today.

We have a new reality now, but the trade offs far outweigh the sacrifice. We have a beautiful farm in which we share with our loving animals, have family close by, good friends and a great life. What more could you ask for?

2 Responses to “Do you Need it or Want it?”

  1. 1 Sandra Pyle

    It is nice to hear from you. It has been a while. Hard to believe that it has been a year since your retirement. Time goes by so fast. Sounds as though you have a wonderful life together on the farm. 🙂 Take care.


Leave a Reply

