A Productive Garden

19Jun14

What a difference 2 weeks makes. After coming back from California, I came home to a garden full of produce…and weeds, but not too bad. Eric’s been keeping up with it the best he can. We had 9 days of rain while I was gone and he couldn’t do much.

I spent most of the morning weeding. It’s already really hot here and even though I got up at 5 this morning and was done around 9, I was really sweating! There’s my workout for the day.

The Japanese beetles are here! Not pleased about that. I saw one on my beloved hollyhocks. The zinnias are multiplying, so I picked a bouquet for our table.

I picked the last of my carrots and tidied up the raised beds in the greenhouse. There’s still a lot of bunching onions, eggplant and peppers still growing. The tomato plants are all full of green tomatoes. It’s going to be a great growing season for them.

We picked zucchini and patty pan squash. Some of the plants had some root rot from all the rain and didn’t make it. There’s still going to be a lot. I guess you have to plan for some losses during the season.

My herb garden is doing good. I picked all our garlic and we’re drying them now in the sun. It looked like more than I planted. They’re going to taste great. I’m using one I picked and dried before I left in my fritatta this morning. It’s making the house smell great.

It feels good to be home. I didn’t miss the heat though. Looks like I’ll have to spend my mornings in the garden and my afternoons in the pool!

 

No Responses Yet to “A Productive Garden”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

