Two Mad Scientists

10May16

I’ve decided to make my own biodegradable soap. In case I haven’t said so, I’ve been wanting to make all natural liquid soaps for the house for some time now. I’m disgusted by all the chemicals and hidden ingredients in most products.  I love that I get to control what’s in it.

I’ve invited my friend, Sandi here to join me to make two batches (1 for her and 1 for me) of liquid Castile soap.

You need a base soap like Castile, in order to make different liquid soap variations like dish washing liquid, liquid hand soap, dishwasher liquid soap, liquid laundry detergent, shower gel, shaving cream, pet shampoo or bubble bath. I will be storing them in glass jars and will repurpose plastic pumps I’ve saved.

Though I could probably buy Bonner’s Castile Soap for about $16 for 32 oz., I could make a gallon (128 oz.) of homemade Castile soap for $30 or less.

Here’s all the supplies I either had to get or had on hand:

NOTE: Do not reuse wooden spoon, plastic utensils or immersion blender ever again after using it for soap making.

  • Rubber gloves
  • Safety goggles
  • A slotted spoon
  • Wooden spoon
  • Glass measuring cup or bowl, 2 quart
  • Glass measuring cup, 2 cup
  • Scale (I bought a digital scale)
  • A crock pot – 6 qt. minimum
  • Immersion stick blender (a cheappie you can dedicate to soap making)
  • Plastic table cloth to keep your work area clean
  • Glass jug, 1 gallon (to store your new soap) and 1 glass pint jar. It’s a little over 1 gallon.

Here’s the ingredients I used:

  • Olive oil, 24 oz.
  • Coconut oil, 16 oz.
  • Potassium Hydroxide Caustic Potash KOH Flakes, 9.35 oz. (comes in a 2 lb bottle)
  • Distilled or filtered water, 1 gallon

We’ve decided to do this outside because of the fumes from the lye. However, after doing it, we were glad it was outside. Batch one boiled over a bit. When they say pour slow, they mean very slow!!!

We cooked batch 1 in a stainless steel pot. Batch 2, we cooked in the crock pot. Batch 2 took all day. We were done with batch 1 after 4 hours. Batch one is the one in the bottle. It turned out good. It’s thinner than you think of for liquid soap.

 

No Responses Yet to “Two Mad Scientists”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

