Time is on the Woodworker’s Side

22Jun16

Eric has always been fascinated with woodworking. Though he’s always had most of his tools, he’s never really had the time until he retired. Since then, he’s been able to do quite a bit of different projects.

When we moved to Tennessee in 2012, we got everything we were looking for except for a shop. Eric has converted our good-sized two car garage into a workshop. And for now, my car still has a space. He has built shelving, a rack for all his wood and work areas. It actually functions quite well due to his impeccable use of space and organization. In California, I was amazed what he did with a one-car garage and I still had room to park my car.

The finished table

A trestle table built out of oak from our farm for my brother and sister-in-law.

Even though Eric doesn’t have the shop he’s always dreamed of, he’s made what he has a nice place for doing what he loves. I kind of look at it the same way, the kitchen doesn’t make the cook, the cook makes the kitchen.

Eric has repaired quite a few pieces of furniture in the past three years and has built a few nice pieces of furniture. People are actually starting to take note of it. In his shop now sits 4 pieces of beloved antiques from my friend’s brother and sister-in-law waiting for restoration. Eric looks at each piece carefully and does not rush through as to what the solution will be. He removes old glue and screws and tries his best to restore each piece as close to the original as possible. When it looks good and is able to function, people are pleasantly surprised.

2015-07-14 06.57.02

Before. A stool that was bought at Goodwill for $4.50.

2015-07-14 06.57.07

Repaired as if the missing piece had always been there.

image

Glue up on an antique foot stool. Eric recreated the right front leg.

image

I don’t have a before pic, but this cabinet was completely falling apart. It now functions perfectly.

I have to admit, most of the projects I’ve asked Eric to build have been Pottery Barn knockoffs. I can see him rolling his eyes every time I ask. Now that he has his fair share of projects going on, I don’t dare ask for a “honey build this” project. I just hope that one day he’ll finish the outdoor furniture I asked him to build last year.

BarCart1

This is a Pottery Barn knockoff I had Eric build. I just love it!

Maintenance on a 32 acre farm has been a challenge, but in between that, Eric always seem to make time for projects. He’s also had to learn to slow down and not have the same expectations he once had, like trying to finish a project in a set amount of time. After all, he isn’t in a hurry anymore. He can take the time to do some really quality pieces.

 

2 Responses to “Time is on the Woodworker’s Side”

  1. 1 Carol

    Wow Michelle! Eric is quite a craftsmen, such beautiful work.


Leave a Reply

